The Present World We Live In..

IMG_7612

I was looking at an article, and remembering the news item, about a British man who was a human rights activist, who had got shot for, defending the rights of a child, playing, and it seems that in all the centuries of human life and growing civilization, we seem to always manage to have these ‘conflicts’, that result in death. Some would call this ‘feuding’, and perhaps we will never learn to stop, as politics, are about status, money and wealth, and owning land. I was appalled recently to come across an article which had shown a future world, managing the population count, as clearly science has shown that the human race is expanding, but, the planet is not. I guess that could worry some people,  I mean, having to share ‘land’. I think obviously we should have by now found ways to explore space for other planets, that could be inhabited, and or, also decided on controlling in gentle ways, the population growth. Yes it is possible to use contraception, and legal means to reduce family size, I think China has already tried to do this. When faced with bleak prospects, this perhaps is the only solution. But, I would hate to think, that any bourgeoise class of persons might think they are ultimately more important, than the rest. I never forget the film Zardof. It stars Sean Connery, and is set in the future.

https://palsolidarity.org/2017/01/in-memory-of-tom-hurndall/

‘Hurndall was wearing a fluorescent vest so he would not be mistaken for a combatant.’

I was mindful, of all these aspects of human life, presenting themselves. I was mindful, because, of all the ‘secrecy’ that seems now to exist, almost adding additional layers of concern for anyone with a heart of gold, and some spiritual substance. I mean too, it will concern human rights activists, and perhaps those who are also driven by altruism. We need to do what is right, and for the right to be alright with the majority view. I have had a bad year. I have been involved as a pedestrian in a collision with a road vehicle. My ankle has been broken in two places, and my foot has been run over by the front tyre of the vehicle. At the time, it worried me, as I was scooped up and taken to hospital, as to whether the event was wholly accidental. I am still not right with the foot being very sore and having to get use to the disabling effect of this. The perpetrator of the collision was going down a one way street the wrong way, I was at a crossing about to trott across to the other side and be on my way. The car was an unmarked police vehicle.  I can see, with the death of a Labour MP Jo Cox, the growth of the white possibly fascist element here even in England. I would like to  be more ‘middle of the road’, but, have always voted for Labour as the country we are in seems inextricably, unable to run, with anything but a two party race for power.

I am writing this article today, because even our language over the last ten or so years, has begun to change, the way people address each other, the way, I use to be seen, by other people, has changed. I have only ever seen my art and writing, as an artistic endeavour, and would like to stay focused on that. I am writing partly from a spiritual viewpoint, but, I do accept, sometimes people will agree and disagree from time to time, over, anyone’s angle of argument, if it involves politics.

This word ‘combatant’, was used in the article above, with regard to the human rights activist Tom Hurndall, but, it makes me quite ‘freaked out’, if other people, start seeing human activists as ‘combatants’, as surely, actual combat, is something to do with a ‘military’ approach, not a point of view that could change say a vote in an election. The only other place I have heard this term used, recently, in the media was in a documentary set in the USA, on how the police work, when arresting drunk drivers, their procedures of lock up and what happens to the arrested person, what punishment is expected for example. In the documentary, the policeman, who has to tackle the drunk woman, finds her physically almost in altercation with him, as he strives to lock  her in a room to calm down.  On the door of the room, he sticks a sign, in large letters saying combatant behaviour. Probably to warn anyone entering, that she might be a bit physically aggressive. There seems now because of all the who har, about ‘terrorism’, some awful conclusions being made, in these areas of policing. I have never seen myself, in any other role than intellectual artist. I am less than five feet in height, to start with, it would be like elephant to mouse proportions to infact implicate me in any ‘combat’, element. It kind of makes me laugh out loud, if anyone should start thinking otherwise.  However, psychopaths excepted, I do not see myself in any ‘karate kid’ role whatsoever. I have grown upset and possibly bemused to find the kind of ‘language’ bandied about on the internet, which presumes, some kind of ‘combative’ strength, is this the result of too many martial arts movies being marketed?And I am thinking possibly of Uma Thurman ‘Kill Bill’ kind of movies. I hate to come over as a ‘Mary Whitehouse’ figure seeking some sort of correctional think tank, possibilities, or censorship..??? We after all at the end of the day, are like ‘monkies’ and copy behaviour we see, well some of the time we do do that. I so wish I had the kind of physical strength of the Kill Bill character, but, now with a wounded foot, cannot see any possibility of that kind of fitness or health even. However, never say die, as, I am trying to get back to my usual health. I have veered off the mark. I do hope, and that should probably be in capitals..HOPE… that the near Neanderthal  urges of some people to bash another’s head against the wall of a cave..in a animal like survival bid, never, ever, re-emerges. It worries me, that anyone could write a story like ‘The Hunger Games’, let alone the possibilities of such a world becoming a reality, in order to cull the grand masses.. who could have had that kind of imagination? I am against glorifying violence. I am after all, someone who sought a career in painting pictures, and writing stories. The archetypical library type, well nearly only, I in the same breath love dance…

Leave a Reply

